The Lure of Trees

IMG_0293

I’ve been away recently, away from communication though some large part of my absence entailed exploring the coast of New England, north and east, nudging the US/Canadian border in wildest Maine, and lately travelling in a parallel universe tip-toeing afloat on the Grand Union Canal in Northamptonshire with friends.

My pen for writing has been replaced by my pencil(s) for drawing as I’m lured once more to trees which I have been photographing and drawing.

There’s a group of 5 oak trees where I walk with Alfie on a bluff overlooking the River Severn which I’m obsessed with. Above, is a recent drawing in colour pencil of the 5 Oaks (one hides behind another) which I am exploring as a kind of ‘visual narrative’ of this  stranded hand of proud trees which I have photographed umpti-ump time over several years.

There’s something about trees…the lure of trees.

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lure of Trees

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Is there no end to your talent? You can go off people you know 🙂 this is superb, I hope you’re framing it and the ones to follow?

Comments are closed.