Weekly Photograph Challenge: Broken

The Photo Challenge this week is ‘Broken’…and cannot be repaired.

I came upon this little broken bird on a track where our dog Alfie likes to walk among the tall grasses by the river. When we came upon this little broken bird Alfie was mesmerised. He sniffed it carefully and wandered around it then stood and stared as if trying to understand.

I think Alfie knew it was a bird but he couldn’t understand why it wasn’t behaving in the expected way. It was different somehow…broken

Alfie looked at the broken bird and looked at me. I shrugged my shoulders and he turned and walked away. If it was a slug or chewing gum he’d have tried to eat it.

He perhaps knew this little bird was broken and couldn’t be repaired.

I hope the little bird knew bright sunny days and the sweet chorus of birdsong…

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_challenge/broken

click this link to see more broken things…

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photograph Challenge: Broken

  1. hereisandrea says:

    What Lucid said.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    So very sad, one more tiny life broken too soon.

Comments are closed.