Weekly Photograph Challenge: Ephemeral

This week’s theme: ephemeral

IMG_1084

 

Ephemeral: some thing lasting a short while…

On a gravestone carved in stone is an angel or a cherub posing as if in thought. While the stone  may last thousand years, her thoughts are ephemeral.

Thought come and go like a butterflies in a gale. Time stands still while thoughts present themselves in an instant, replaced by others over and over without limit.

‘What were you thinking?’ she asked.

‘Oh nothing really,’ he answered, pausing and knowing he can never unravel the stream, the train, the day-dream of illusive thoughts.

As a writer I’m fascinated by the ephemeral nature of thoughts; those slippery eels, wisps of smoke, a wobbly bubble, a scent on a breeze. How do they begin and where do they go?While I grab a few, others escape, each spawning countless others and all unique to me; they are me.

‘We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts we make our world.’ Buddha

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_challenge/ephemeral/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photograph Challenge: Ephemeral

  1. Osyth says:

    Thoughts are the most ephemeral of things …. Well they are for me 🙂

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    You know it annoys me no end when someone asks me what I’m thinking, how on earth am I supposed to answer that when in nano seconds it’s changed twenty times?

Comments are closed.