100wordchallebgeforgrownups #159

‘The usual sir?’

I gave her a blank stare.

‘I’d like to see some gold necklaces please.’

Two trays appeared from the display cabinet.

With deliberation I examined rows of chains with pendants.

‘I’ll have this one please.’ I’d chosen a pendant with two hands clasped.

‘Thank you sir. Would you like me to wrap it?’

 

On Christmas morning I presented my gift.

‘Merry Christmas my dear,’ I said, pleased with the unique gift.

She lifted the necklace from the box and sighed deeply.

‘Horace, it’s the same necklace three years in a row!’

Bugger…I (really) need to remember…

 

http://jfb57wordpress.com/2014/12/15/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week-159/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in 100 word challenge, challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 100wordchallebgeforgrownups #159

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Whoops! of course that would never happen to you now would it?

  2. Osyth says:

    Oh you boys … just stay as you are and we girls can scold you and sigh and be amused inside 🙂

Comments are closed.