100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups – Week #144: Black Dog

Julia has asked for 100 words regarding – the black dog that walks beside me

In parts of rural Britain, Black Dog is ghostly harbinger of death.

A thousand questions demanded of me but I could answer none of them. Too preoccupied was I with enduring the burden which befalls me now, driven by my second sense to go to him.

A bitter wind hurled rain like shards of glass tearing at me, soaking me to my skin yet I would endure any burden to be with him, to hold his hand when his number’s called and ease his transition to the other side. Yet try as I may, I became aware of the black dog that walks along beside me and I knew he’d been alone.

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week144/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in 100 word challenge, blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups – Week #144: Black Dog

  1. lorrainefort says:

    ahh…awareness and being there are incredibly important…really a good piece. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Heartbreaking. Such a struggle to be in time, but finding you’re too late. Excellent.

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Tony this one hit me right in my heart, brilliant writing.

  4. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#144 | Julia's Place

  5. jfb57 says:

    Very powerful writing here. I love the description of the rain.

    You put the wrong link on the linky but I have change it for you!

Comments are closed.