Travel Theme/WFC: Rivers/On the Move

Two for the price of one this week, On-the-Move on a river

On the move…
At the River Jiang in Jiangsu Province my progress is interrupted at this lock used by live-aboard sea-going vessels. Further upstream the river widened and here you can cross the expanse of putty-coloured water by pagoda ferries. In nearby calm water inlets, men in canoes prepared to fish with cormorants in the night. Witnessing this ancient occupation literally took my breath away.I miss China…

last of shanghai 449

last of shanghai 438

last of shanghai 448

last of shanghai 638

last of shanghai 636

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/on-the-move/
http://wheresmybackpack.com/2014/05/09/rivers/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, challenges, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Travel Theme/WFC: Rivers/On the Move

  1. Pingback: I love the water but don’t want to be a fish | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  2. Great images for the challenge, Tony. It must be a very hard life on the rivers there.

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Fabulous Tony, China is so totally ‘other’ to me.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: On the Move (escalators) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  5. dadirri7 says:

    love your views of China, and life on the rivers 🙂

  6. Hi – couldn’t find a “comment” section on your post about Letters. What I wanted to say there was this: I, too, have a large box full of letters from many different countries which I saved over a period of 30 yrs or so. They are still a treasure to me. There is really no way to “save” e-mail correspondence in a similar way, that would even come near to the satisfaction of holding a physical letter with foreign (or old) stamps in your hand.

    • 2far2shout says:

      You are so right and for me I don’t even want to read the letters yet couldn’t separate the letters from the envelopes… Thals so much for you

    • 2far2shout says:

      I lost the end of my reply. I just wanted to say thank you for your reply. It’s good to know I’m not alone in having wierd ideas…
      Tony

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: On the Move (Snail) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Travel Theme-Rivers | WoollyMuses

Comments are closed.