100 Word Challenge for Grown ups #131

Julia wants us to visit and be visited by Night Demons in 100 words:

Can you see ‘night’, Mum? I don’t mean daylight things without light, but the actual night?

She took me outside.
Standing on the garden lawn in full darkness of night lit only by the moon, she said, ‘Stand still and listen to the dark, listen hard ‘n you’ll see demons of night at work.

After an age silence melted, trees began to change places, bushes shook and a cold wind blew up. Strange sounds rose from dark moonlightless places; noises like deep breathing, grunting and shuffling. I began to shiver and become very very frightened.

‘Mum, mum?’ Are you there…?’

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in 100 word challenge, blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown ups #131

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh goodness I can see this happening, the fear rises.

    • 2far2shout says:

      Sorry for scaring you… I try not to spend too long outside by the river in the pitch black of night. I just know there’s strange unseen things going on the the bushes at the waters edge…c’on Alfie, let’s get home, quick…the two of us do run home without stopping.

Comments are closed.