The First of the Month

I’m always amazed how my childhood is such a part of my being.
At boarding school we watched the calendar like hawks for the First Day of the Month. Unpreparedness meant exposure to punishment from your peers.
‘Pinch-and-a-punch-first-day-of-the-month’ greeted the unaware who received a sharp pinch and a thump for being so careless. Salvation lay in the utterance of mercy: ‘WHITE RABBIT’, thus rendering you immune from further punishment or if quick enough to utter ‘White-Rabbit’ before the completion of the challenging chant, spared you from nips and thumps altogether.
I’ve no idea who made the rules…
This quaint little custom was relaxed after the striking of noon much to everyone’s relief. The first day of the month was a long uncomfortable half-day for the uninitiated since we were woken at 6am by the first of many bells during the day. It’s amazing how quickly you learn about life.

imagesBKXIB43L
Saved by the ‘White Rabbit’.

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The First of the Month

  1. dadirri7 says:

    oh yes, I remember that .. and at boarding school too!

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I got my friend this morning ♥

Comments are closed.