Where’s My Backpack/Travel Theme: Work

Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week is WORK (sorry I’m late)
You may think it odd to show images from Shanghai 2007 that are clearly NOT work.
When I travel close to the ground I soon pick up things about the society that wouldn’t register if I wasn’t living and working there.
These men are sleeping because they have BEEN working and you can be sure they have been working long and hard, most probably through the night. Maybe home is too far away. There’s no time to go home and rest or they will loose their pitch so rest is taken on the job in the summer. Many do seasonal work and return home in the winter to tend livestock and prepare crops. Chinese people are resourceful and very hardworking. Consider that they may be working to send their child to primary school; schooling is not free in Shanghai.
Life is not always as it seems…

last of shanghai 171

last of shanghai 139

last of shanghai 594

http://wheresmybackpack.com/2014/02/21/travel-theme-work/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, challenges, photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where’s My Backpack/Travel Theme: Work

  1. Madhu says:

    A break from work…that works for me 🙂

  2. dadirri7 says:

    no, I love sleeping images of workers (whoops!), we know they will be hard at it soon!

Comments are closed.