100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups Week #119: I think of you

This week the Challenge is to write 100 words on; …….I think of you

Inspired by Joni Mitchell’s song Chelsea Morning, I offer this piece of 100 word Flash writing:

(…….I think of you)

Beautiful morning, sun pouring through yellow curtains
Like butterscotch. I think of you.

I cradle a mug of tea warming gently my broken heart
And watch a rainbow on the wall. I long for you.

The pavement outside is still paved with passersby, pigeons fly.
Yet there’s no breakfast of milk and toast and honey and no
beautiful you, here beside me to paint a portrait of the day
and speak in present tense.

I think of you when curtains close and I sit by candle-light unable to understand why you went away, didn’t stay.
Always I think of you.

With reference to Joni Mitchell, Chelsea Morning
Chelsea Morning lyrics © Joni Mitchell/Crazy Crow Music/Siquomb Music, Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week119/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in 100 word challenge, blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups Week #119: I think of you

  1. Madhu says:

    Poignant and beautiful! Well done Tony 🙂

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    This is heartbreakingly lovely, you old romantic you!

Comments are closed.