It’s Raining, It’s pouring…A sodden blog

What’s with all this RAIN!

004rs
[click the image to enlarge]

This photo looking towards our house, is of the River Avon at Tewkesbury where the lock allows boats to change level down to meet the River Severn just around the corner to the left.

I’m reminded of some nursery rhymes about rain I used to recite as a child and most likely
taught to me by my lovely paternal Grandmother who as Maud Brown, used to walk the stage boards.

Doctor Foster went to Gloucester
In a shower of Rain
He fell in a puddle
Right up to his middle
And never went there again.

Supposedly the good doctor was a pseudonym for Edward 1 who came to Gloucester (13 century) to sort out some double glazed windows for castles he was building to keep the Celts at bay. He fell off his horse into a muddy puddle and refused thereafter to visit the wretched place.
And its still raining!

It’s Raining,
It’s Pouring,
The Old Man’s snoring.
He went to bed and banged his head
And couldn’t get up in the morning.

A poem of uncertain origin.
I was taught an additional verse:

Then up he Got
And Home he trot
As fast as he could Caper. (run)
He went to Bed
And wrapped his Head
In Vinegar and Brown Paper.

In the best tradition of nonsense verse…
and lastly:

Rain rain
Go away
Come back
An other day.

Chanted when pouring rain meant we couldn’t go out to play.

Can anyone add to this list of rainy-day rhyme?
Stay dry and warm…

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, stormy weather, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Raining, It’s pouring…A sodden blog

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I remember all but cant for the life of me think of any more. I managed to walk home from work today without getting wet, but I’m fed up with it now 😦

Comments are closed.