Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

The title of this weeks photo challenge is ‘Unexpected’.
I called into Waitrose Supermarket in Malvern Worcestershire recently, slipped into a vacant parking space and to my astonishment I’d parked next to a Morgan Super 8 Coupe.
I’m a bit of a ‘petrol head’ and this car is rarely seen, remarkable for its engineering and startling good looks, launched in 2011 and built entirely of aluminium.
The family owned Morgan Motor Company established in Malvern in 1910, is famous for its hand-built cars using wood (ash) substructure. The first cars were three-wheelers (a new 3-wheeler was launched in 2012) using motorcycle air and water cooled engines; distinctive, light-weight and fast. There is a waiting lists for all models, at present most buyers are happy to wait more than two years for their dream car.
The word ‘iconic’ is much used and misused these day, but in the world of sports cars a Morgan, particularly the V8 Super coupe, is truly iconic.

Australia 2013 218

032

033

Click photograph to enlarge

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

  1. Madhu says:

    What a beauty!

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Not what you expect to see went you go for groceries! I’ve never seen one of these but I don’t think I like it. I love the more familiar Morgan though, like this. http://lucidgypsy.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/hobbit-and-oggiemog/

Comments are closed.