Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity II (Ranakpur Jain Temple – more images)

Image

Gilly asked me if I would post some more images of the Jain Temple at Ranakpur, Rajasthan.

The 500 year old temple sits in a splendid walled compound in a State Nature Reserve, designed on an unusual cruciform axis.

There are times when the marble carving is mistaken for lace, such is its intricacy. Elephants abound.

Non-Jains are not allowed in the temples of Jain Saints, but don’t worry the meal in the Temple kitchens is an exciting enough experience. If you visit don’t miss out.

There’s nowhere to stay if you visit, though literally around a corner outside the Temple I found a beautifully sited State-run hotel that had not yet woken from the 1940’s. The manager told me no one stayed at the sad neglected hotel because it was not advertised. A lick or two of paint and some minor upgrading would restore the old girl close to its former glory. I stayed the night, ate and drank in fine style as a guest of the manager and the chef but had to be up in the black dawn at 5am to catch the only bus that day to my next. destination, Mount Abu.

For details of temple can be found on the website http://www.jaindharmonline.com/pilgri/ranak.htm, all the others are a bit slipshod.

You might like to read my little book Hero on a Honda – Reflections on India ISBN 97811622126422

Image

Image

The Sun Temple in the grounds of Ranakpur

Image

Elephants are everywhere.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

What did I tell you…

Image

Image

Image

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in blog, photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity II (Ranakpur Jain Temple – more images)

  1. Madhu says:

    Dropped jaws is the right term!! You must mean non Hindus are denied entry, for we were allowed inside and we aren’t Jains.

    • 2far2shout says:

      If you say so, I’m sure its non-Hindu….the important information was lost in translation when I was told politely I was not allowed entry. It didn’t in any way diminish the wonderful experience. Thanks for your comment Madhu.

  2. Pingback: Holiday in Mana Ranakpur | The Humming Notes

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity | Say It With A Camera

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity | small house/BIG GARDEN

  5. This is such a stunning looking place. Wow, such detail in all those carvings. It looks awe inspiring…..and I’ve been studying your wonderful photos for ages…there’s just to much to look at in every shot….I’m imagining it was even more jaw dropping in person 🙂

  6. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Love it Tony, thanks so much. I’ve just watched Rick Stein in Bengal and Chennai and now I’m even more desperate to go back to India.

  7. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Reblogged this on Lucid Gypsy and commented:
    Tony answered my plea for more photos of the Jain temple at Ranakpur and I just had to share them with you. I’ve been to a jain temple myself, it was lovely, very calm and serene but Ranakpur is mesmerising in its beauty. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.