Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

The cemetery at Izki in the interior of Oman. The basic rules of burial in the Moslem tradition states:

620. * It is obligatory to bury a dead body in the ground, so deep that its smell does not come out and the beasts of prey do not dig it out, and, if there is a danger of such beasts digging it out then the grave should be made solid with bricks, etc.

621. If it is not possible to bury a dead body in the ground, it may be kept in a vault or a coffin, instead.

622. The dead body should be laid in the grave on its right side so that the face remains towards the Qibla.

This cemetery is on land on the outskirts of the small town of Izki. This cemetery has no more room, it’s already saturated.

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
Image | This entry was posted in blog, challenges, photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  2. adinparadise says:

    There’s definitely something to be said for cremation. 🙂

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Interesting take on saturated. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated | Isadora Art and Photography

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Are the graves marked, how do you know its full?

    • 2far2shout says:

      Not marked so that you and I would know them. There are not tokens or gestures of remembrance. I was told by my friend Kalifa the cemetery was too crowded, new land is being sought…

Comments are closed.