Travel Theme/Were’s My Backpack: Distance

Travel Theme/Were's My Backpack: Distance

Distance is often difficult to capture on camera. So often a distant view is obscured by mist, dust, pollution and combinations of all the above. Other times definition is limited by the camera itself.
Here I sit in silhouette against a background of endless distance where there is no obstruction from here to the Indian Ocean and beyond to Antarctic continent. Mountainous landscape meets wind scarred sky way beyond the horizon.
I am in The Sultanate of Oman, astride the lower peak of awesome Jebel Akhtar and the Green Mountains.
With an Omani friend we two watch for the fight path of bees returning from the date blossoms in the valleys and wadis below to their nests in crevasses among the crumbling rock.
The air is hot like an oven but the keen breeze cools my skin.
Here is the very best honey I have ever tasted.
We are anxious to descent ahead of the sinking sun.

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
Image | This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Travel Theme/Were’s My Backpack: Distance

  1. adinparadise says:

    What an awesome vista. You look like the king of the castle sitting on your throne. 🙂

  2. Incredible view …. great photo

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    A great photo Tony and what an adventure, I envy you that one 🙂

Comments are closed.