Hundred Word Challenge for grownups # 97: Heat

A warm soft breeze scented with honeysuckle slips through the open doors seeking shade.  The breeze catches the curtain inviting it to dance, caresses his unclothed body and in its wake leaves a rippling sensation agitating hairs on his tanned arms. Outside the furnace bakes the landscape sucking moisture from the parched earth driving all life to the safety of deep shade.  Wrapped in an afternoon heat of half sleep he remembers heated passion last night and wonders about the coming evening.

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week97/

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hundred Word Challenge for grownups # 97: Heat

  1. A very enjoyable read …

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    You seem to have used a technique I sometimes use in flash fiction – minimal punctuation. I feel that it adds to the impact, making it very immediate, was it planned?

    • 2far2shout says:

      Hello Gilly, for some reason this went to spam!
      It is possible that I use ‘minimal’ punctuation because I i’m not a very chatty person.
      Seriously I think its ‘horses for courses’; sometimes brief dialogue convey loads of meaning.
      In this case I had such a clear vision of the scene I wanted to write that it flowed with only minimal punctuation.
      I wish it was me.
      I’m glad you liked it

Comments are closed.