My Weekly Photo: Summoning the Sun

My Weekly Photo

A pile of leaves collected from the floor of a Eucalyptus glade, picked up by me at random while in Australia and stuffed in the pouch in my notebook, summons the warmth of the sun.
Outside my window the arctic winds of winter continue to blast the brave efforts of Spring to claim her time. It is unusual for us in the British Isles to experience a fixed weather pattern; this dry cold penetrating wind from the North East has remained with us for many weeks in spite of the lambs in the fields and the daffodils in the verges.
Trapped in these subtle coloured leaves is the warmth of the same sun above the clouds today. Dusty hews tell of a place baked dry in an Australian summer where hot winds blow and suck the moisture from the earth.
I rub my hands together over the leaves as if it were a fire and I feel the warmth of the latent summer sun.
Soon a warm sun will come to us and ignite our summer.

anthony-farmer.blogspot.com (charabanc)

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
Image | This entry was posted in photo challenge, thoughfulness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Weekly Photo: Summoning the Sun

  1. 2far2shout says:

    I’m amazed at the progress plants are making in spite of the cold. Buds, new leaves and flowers are a tonic for us; spring is here ready to burst forth.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I really hope it’s soon Tony!

Comments are closed.