My Weekly Photo: Awesome

006

Awesome: adjective

  • extremely impressive or daunting; inspiring awe: the awesome power of the atomic bomb

This magnificent Copper Beech graces the churchyard of Tewkesbury Abbey, my home town.

Records show the first Christian worship was brought to the town by the missionary Theoc in 7th century (Theocs-bury, Tewkes-bury)

The present Abbey was established by a religious foundation in 1092

The copper beech is not that old, perhaps 3-400 years. But it’s size and presence, its immense strength and its expressive details, make it truly AWESOME.

I come to the churchyard regularly to respect this awesome tree.

About 2far2shout

outstanding in my own field OU creative writing A215 2011 slow traveller wild swimmer day dreamer Short Story winner
This entry was posted in photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Weekly Photo: Awesome

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    It’s wonderful, I hope you photograph it in different seasons for us – oh and I hope you hug it too 🙂

Comments are closed.